In order for the world to be a ‘greener’ place, punishment and fines for environmentally unfriendly acts committed by individuals need to be more severe. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Giving more severe punishments and fines for individuals who harm our nature is one of the solutions to keep our world greener. I believe that increasing fines to a higher amount and applying longer duration of jail punishments could increase people ’s awareness of keeping green. To begin with, increasing the number of fines would be more effective to prevent people from misconduct towards their environment. The reason is money plays a valuable role in the society, especially it is earned with toil and sacrifice, so they do not want to lose it solely to pay fines. Moreover, setting a low level of fines will reduce the urgency of the rules. People would easily disobey it since they can afford the fines. For example, Indonesians tend to pay for plastic bags from the minimarket rather than bring their environmentally friendly eco-bag. In my opinion, this rule is not effective at all since the punishment of giving Rp 2,000 additional charge is too cheap. Additionally, more severe punishments like longer duration in jail would be the best idea to encourage people to obey the rules. This would affect their career life since some companies need a letter of evidence that people are free from misconduct behaviour, especially from jail. Moreover, it should be supported by the law to be more strict and fairer to the suspect. For instance, people will considerate to not litter in the river since the punishment of being jailed is clearly come to their mind. In conclusion, setting a higher number of fines will make people think twice of their behaviour. It could be a big companion if longer jail is also implemented to create a greener world in an effective way.