The spread of a ‘global language’ such as English will threaten national languages. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

There is an opinion asserting that the development of a certain language, like English, as a communication tool across the world will jeopardize the national languages in countries. While this trend can be detrimental in some cases, it would be argued that there are more benefits to facilitating relationships among various nations. The main disadvantage of spreading English as an international language is that people from different nationalities may show less tendency to apply their national and local languages. If people tend to advance professionally, they may have to build a link with other foreign corporations. As the conservation through languages can be the first and simplest type of connection, people are likely to reach a compromise to apply a foreign language. For example, when students want to pursue their education at a prestigious university abroad, they are likely to provide an English certificate. Consequently, they may lose their concentration on the national language on the condition that they are tempted to expand their professional network. Notwithstanding, speaking English internationally is confronted with several benefits. The first matter can be a higher level of globalization, which brings a great number of advantages, in modern times rather than in the past because people are able to speak in a similar language without any hesitation. Furthermore, as people from different nations can speak English fluently, they have a higher ability to impart their message clearly, followed by a friendlier environment among countries. Ultimately, by sharing a variety of outcomes in English either professionally or academically, people have more opportunities to be informed about each other’s achievements, leading to more advancements in scientific or professional fields. Ergo, had people not acquired English language skills around the world, such benefits would be impossible in the cutting-edge era. In conclusion, although there may be a handful of possible demerits, it is hard to deny that English provide humans with a world-expanded communication medium with inevitable comforts.