Society is based on rules and laws. If individuals were free to do whatever they want to do, it could not function. To what extent do you agree or disagree with the above statement?

For centuries regulations and laws have been the basis of our societies in every nation, since these help the world stay in order. There is an increasing belief that people with extreme ownership and freedom might cause disfunction and chaos. I certainly agree with this statement, because laws and social guidelines ensure the safety and development of each country. To begin with, the world could experience imbalance and deteriorate into chaos if there were no governments who were in charge of management. In order to maintain world peace and social order, such laws and regulations must be implied on citizens, or else, situations of criminals and terrorism may arise, take the September 11th event as an example. This holds true in countries like America, where there is Liberal Party allowing different types of beliefs and behaviors. Normal citizens, however, suffer from anxiety and depression, because there is always a risk of people firing their guns or conducting reckless acts like speeding every day. Moreover, imposing laws or policies could benefit organizations and individuals tremendously. Labor policies have brought a fair treatment between women and men within companies, by promoting gender equality. In addition, there are food safety guidelines that workers should follow so as to ensure the high level of hygiene in food preparation. For example, with strict rules and proper assessments, the situation of water polution and contamination occured in the Thi Vai River, caused thousands of deaths for marine species. This is an evidence for the need of following certain rules; or else, the consequences will be inevitably huge, and the situations could not be reversed. To conclude, governments and law firms play a pivotal role in guaranteeing the stability of society and preventing the spread of illegal activities. With rules and regulations, the peace of citizens will be protected and companies will thrive without causing any environmental damage.