At present, the media affects people's lives significantly. What impact does this have on society? Is it a negative or positive development?

Currently, it is believed that people's lives have significantly been affected by the media and I think this has a negative influence on our society which will be discussed in the subsequent paragraphs. To begin with, the media in its different forms be it printed like magazines or electronic have in recent times had a major impact on the lives of individuals. The media has a lot of content which many people try to emulate especially the youth. They go on these social sites and see the luxurious lifestyles of famous people which some see as role models and they try to copy their ways of life which might be different from their actual lives when they are off social circles. This trend is adversely affecting our society because followers of these celebrities copy blindly just to become like them. Also, in the quest to be like their idols, many of the youth engage in diverse activities to get money some through robbery, prostitution unnecessary competition etc. For example, a survey conducted on the University of Ghana campus, revealed that most of the participants said they have to look exactly like these popular persons they look up to and by so doing engage themselves in this kind of act. Furthermore, this pattern of the effect of the media on our lives is a waste of time to a large extent than the good we derive from it such as making communications and working easier. Most people can be on their smartphones, tablets, laptops or even watching TV all day long which I believe is a waste of time leading to unproductivity. Many people spend their resourceful and productive time watching unimportant videos streaming forgetting their roles at work thereby reducing yield in their fields of work. Moreover, this leads to some health conditions such as eye-straining, auditory problems etc. To conclude, it is said that people's way of life has grossly been influenced nowadays by the use of the media which I concur has more demerits to our community.