Many people believe that bicycle is a healthy and environmentally friendly mode of transport. However, it is no longer the main form of transport. What are the reasons? What could be done to encourage the use of bicycles among the wider population?

Using a bicycle brings a lot of benefits in our body and environment, but it is no longer the main tranport on the road. I believe this is due to the convenience and fast options that we have available such as cars and trains. If there were more lanes for cyclists on the road, it may encourage people to use this as transportation by many. Some of the benefits of using a bicycle includes improvement of the cardiovascular muscles of a person because of peddling, and since it does not need fuel, it is environment-friendly. In addition, They could also avoid the heavy traffic because of the slim frame of the vehicle. Despite these advantages, people still choose to use other modes of transportation like cars and trains because of the fast and convenient way to get to their destinations as they do not need to carry it around. One way to encourage individuals to use this form of transportation is to ensure that they have their own lanes in most of the road paths, to provide security to cyclist. Moreover, proper bicycle stands in public area would help riders to have their own space for their vehicle, and do not need to tag it along with them. Spreading awareness about the benifit benefit this would bring our health and environment may catch the attention of many individuals. In conclusion, the time saved and convenience that other mode of transportations stop people from using bicycle. In my opinion, providing a space and respect on cyclist on the road may push people to use bikes again, as well as informing them the positive changes this will bring to the body and environment.