Some school leavers go traveling or work for a period of time instead of going directly to university. Do you think this has more advantages or disadvantages in their study?

Nowadays, it is common for pupils to have a break directly after graduating from secondary school to travel or work. This will lead to both advantages and disadvantages, I believe that there will be several positives and drawbacks in both cases. On one side of that argument, having a gap year for traveling benefits students in learning new languages and discovering different cultures, although many students work during this period to become more independent and have a source of income, Most students decide to have a job immediately after finishing high school, Travelling is a way to relax from the stresses of full-time education, thus it develops their social skills, in addition, foreigners they meet from different cultures consequently they will learn new languages, for example, my friend Sara after graduating she took two years breathing space and traveled to China now she is a fluent Chinese speaker. Furthermore, the disadvantages of both cases perhaps make people not interested in continuing their education, also they are a year behind their high school friends and have forgotten the lessons they learned, and students returning from a break find it very difficult to adjust to university life and starting a course after a year's break is back-breaking, Most of the school leavers forget what they studied or how to study at all, namely in my university there are number of students the administration imposed a preparatory year on them because they forgot what they learned in secondary school and the cause of this clean forget was the gap year. Overall, taking a break from studies can be advantageous if it permits people to learn more about the world and new languages, Though they should be careful that it doesn't affect their learning journey.