An increasing number of people are choosing cosmetic surgeries. Why do people have operations to change the way they look? Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, undertaking plastic surgeries to beautify our appearances has always been a heated matter. It is phenomenal to see many individuals spend significant amounts of money at cosmetic medical centres. Stemming from the notion of valuing inner charm over the external look, I argue that perfecting ourselves via medical operations is, in fact, a negative development. In this essay, I will illustrate multiple detrimental issues brought by cosmetic surgery. First and foremost, the nature of these surgeries encourages people to develop a mindset that overlooks the inner beauty of human beings. By perfecting their nose, jawlines etc, we tend to forget about our internal qualities that truly matter. These qualities include our kindness towards others, learning intelligence and various funds of knowledge. Having operations does not contribute to these qualities, making us more superficial and judgemental. Therefore, it is obvious that it leads us to an unhealthy mentality. Building on top of the preceding discussion of the craving for external beauty, these surgeries might also trigger some problematic outcomes to our physical health. There have been multiple miserable living cases of young people, having regrets after the operations. Additionally, unsatisfied with the outcomes of the previous surgeries, they may have their facial feature altered a few more times, which ultimately ruins their faces or bodies, turning them into monsters. Hence, this way of living is undesirable and not recommended, as it not only empties our wallets but also diminishes our real identities. In summary, having cosmetic changes to our look is indeed a negative development with its cons far outweighing its pros. We might be able to have a better external appearance, but the beauty of our internal qualities was shadowed.