The number of endangered species has increased significantly in this century and we find more mass extinctions in this period than in any other period of time. State some reasons for this and provide possible solutions.

Species getting endangered have risen in numbers this century, and it’s more than any other century in the past. There are two main causes, increasing human encroachment in wildlife areas and killing wild species for their personal and economic benefits. Possible solutions would be to have an urban developments highly scrutinized by the government and enforce strict punishments to the poachers. One of the main reason for rise in species getting endangered is human selfishness and the desire to take on more land. Owing to the rising population and the need for additional land to cater to ever-increasing demand for housing and urban infrastructure, justifies the need to cut forest for human habitat. In India, for instance, the sole Asiatic lion species was on verge of extinction because human developmental projects were displacing lions out of their natural ecology, leading to disturbance in food chain and in the long run, leading to more deaths. This can be tackled with strict rules enforced by governments to not allow developments in wildlife designated zones, which is the key for wildlife survival without affecting their food chain. Another major reason that needs to be considered is human motives to satisfy their personal needs and maintain their status symbols. These days, majority of health and beauty products contain extract of animals products which eventually is the leading reason for dwindling wildlife population and at times making it endanered and exinct. For example, in developing countries, animals like tigers and elephants are poached for making clothes, jewellery and rugs which acts a symbol of royalty. One way this can be addressed by government is to enforce stricter rules and punishments to the poachers and develop understanding using school education. Additionally, wildlife sanctuary, and state park needs to be highly regulated and policed to catch the perpetuators of crime. In conclusion, the rise in endangered species is caused mainly due to the humans requiring to satisfy their selfish needs of urban development and their needs of jewellery and beauty products extracted from animal byproducts. Government would need to put a check on permissions for new land development projects, while at the same time have stricter punishments for violators in wildlife designated zones.