Some people believe that all children should learn a foreign language from the time they start school, while others feel it is better to wait until a child is at secondary school. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, with the vast number of education opportunities, learning a foreign language has become indispensable and available to everyone. Nevertheless, there are certain individuals who consider that children should start learning after secondary school while others think that the best time is when children begin to go to school. I align with the viewpoint that the optimal period starts from the first year of school. To begin with, starting from an early age can be quite challenging for some children. Because, recently in schools, they are required to learn several different subjects. So, not all students can stand the difficulties of learning a foreign language amid so much workload since they are more likely to focus on fundamental things such as the alphabet and calculation. To give an example of this, in 2015, Russian researchers investigated statistics and concluded that those who started to acquire a second language at primary school performed worse in basic subjects than those who delayed this procedure. Moving to the next point, apart from a handful of disadvantages, there are numerous positive effects of starting to gain proficiency in a different language from a young age. In general, language is more a habit than memorizing vocabulary and grammar. Therefore, the earlier kids take action, the better they get used to the new tongue. Furthermore, it is also preferable in terms of accent because of muscle memory as muscles grow until a certain age. For instance, according to my observations, people who have had new linguistic development since they started school can articulate in a non-native language more effortlessly compared to the community who procrastinated. To conclude, there is a common belief among a segment of society that the advisable age to practice a new language is around 6 whereas the rest of them recommends offsprings to start after secondary school. I am of the opinion that there are a lot of benefits to diving into action before it is too late.