In some countries, an increasing number of people are suffering from health problems as a result of eating too much fast food. It is therefore necessary for governments to impose a higher tax on this kind of food. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

It is well-known that eating habits play an important role in the overall health of a nation. Nowadays a growing part of the population suffer from diseases associated with the consumption of food high in calories, which has led to the conclusion by governments to impose a higher tax on this type of consumer goods. In my opinion, this is a brilliant decision and should be played in action in every country of the world to reduce metabolic diseases. First, metabolic diseases related to eating habits such as type 2 diabetes, hypertension and obesity takes up a lot of a country's health budget. For example, governments have to pay not just for medication but for exams, complication costs, hospitalization and mortality expenses which many patients could not afford by themselves. More so, in some countries public health does not exits or is not good enough so people have to get a private insurance. Secondly, fast food is usually cheaper than organic and healthy food which explains why a bigger portion of consumers constantly buy these poor quality products. As an example, a bag of chips in United States can cost less than a dollar, meanwhile a single banana usually is around $1.50 in some places. If a tax is added to high caloric food there would be a reduction of sales leading to more clients searching for better quality products. In conclusion, adding a tax on fast food makes it a challenge for people to consume unhealthy food and reduces the prevalence of metabolic diseases which yearly takes a toll in the budget of a nation while improving overall health and reducing mortality.