The private car has greatly improved individual freedom of movement and has become a status symbol for many people. Yet the use of private cars has contributed to some of today's most serious problems. How can the use of private cars be reduced?

Nowadays, private vehicles have become a preferred mode of transportation among residents. This growing trend may be attributable to its benefits of enhanced mobility and a status symbol. Despite its advantages, the excessive use of personal cars poses one of the greatest challenges in the environment. Therefore, several strategies must be implemented to reverse this issue. One immediate practical solution is to improve public transportation facilities. This approach aims to encourage people to rely less on their private cars. People mostly buy private cars to have a comfortable commuting experience though owning personal cars. If the public transportation facility is improved, many people would shift their current preference. This strategy has been applied in European countries such as the United Kingdom, France, and the Netherlands to tackle the traffic congestion caused by excessive cars. Consequently, this approach has resulted in improved city sustainability by reducing air pollution and traffic jams at peak hours. Secondly, a policy on promoting alternative modes of transportation, such as bicycles, must be established. The stakeholders in the Netherlands, for instance, have developed a regulation that allows cycling and walking only if the destination is less than a kilometre away. In addition, some other countries, such as Indonesia and Singapore, have created car-free zones to reduce motor vehicle usage. This encouragement will eventually lead to reduced dependency on motor vehicles, as residents become accustomed to travelling using alternative modes of transportation. In conclusion, despite the benefits of private motor vehicles, they severely pollute the environment. Therefore, governmental authorities must take measures to combat the usage of personal cars by improving public transportation and promoting alternative modes of commuting.