What are the qualities of a good friendship? What are some things that weaken a close relationship over time?

A close-knit friend is the type of person who can speak the same language as you and see eye to eye about significant issues in life. No matter how life is challenging for you, you go through thick and thin together; that is why you never feel lonely and desperate under difficult circumstances. However, in recent decades, long-term friendships have lost their importance and become weaker owing to the increase in individualism. Firstly, basic requirements like spending quality time together can be a starting point for every friendship. What is more, any human connection requires extra supportive indicators such as trust, a similar point of view, and rapport. For instance, since we are deeply in need of empathy and support, we may easily drift apart from our friends unless they provide us with these crucial feelings. Hence, an ideal and sustainable relationship is fragile, and it’s similar to a plant needing a great amount of input in order to grow as much as we expect. According to one of the articles I read a long time ago, eighty percent of bosom friends build bridges by developing sympathy for each other and sticking together no matter what. On the other hand, life is not always linear and includes a great amount of uncertainty. That is why, people are prone to transform as much as life. Regardless of the mutual love and respect that friendship has, the evolution of people can make friendship tough to maintain in the long run. For example, researchers suggest that we can calculate the life expectancy of friendships through data based on distinctive plans of friends in the near future. However, we must know that this change is completely normal for the life we are living. Especially when it comes to this century, the rise of individuality seems to have a deep impact on close friends. To illustrate, as far as I am concerned, I would rather stay at home alone than go for hours to meet up with friends in the hustle and bustle of İstanbul. As a consequence, before pondering strong friendship, we must take into account the reality of the world full of individual desires and ambitions. Not only do we endeavor to create reliable relationships with close ones, but all of us are willing to develop stronger bonds with our friends. Thus, sympathetic and supportive friends will be as rare as pearls in the sea.