Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Some people assert that either travelling or working abroad is the sole reason for studying a foreign language, while others believe that there are various reasons. However, I would argue that a variety of reasons both professionally and personally have a role to play. Residing in another country for any purpose may require people to speak its language, which is probably different from their mother tongue. In fact, to accommodate their different needs, building relationships with the host society’s citizens is highly likely to be inevitable, followed by conservation, as a simple and initial form of connection. To illustrate, if people experience international travel, they may have to order in restaurants or book a hotel room, or even if they work in an international corporation, they may have to present a speech in a meeting with their colleagues. Hence, they should speak fluently without any hesitation to be able to impart their message clearly. Consequently, language skills are likely to be a prerequisite under these conditions. Notwithstanding, people can be encouraged to learn a foreign language for several other reasons. The first matter can be special personal characteristics, meaning that people can decide to speak a foreign language in accordance with their adventurous and active characters, which are satisfied with new topics. Furthermore, as numerous universities have incorporated foreign languages as their academic fields, students have to learn other languages to pass the university exams, leading to graduation in linguistics. Ultimately, with different language academies in a country, people can be tempted to learn a foreign language to teach children in the future, thus pursuing this profession to earn money. In conclusion, although speaking a foreign language may be necessary in an international medium, people are potentially stimulated to learn another language in order to various types of motivations.