Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

There are various severe environmental issues that require to be tackled properly. While some believe that the primary environmental problem at this time is the extinction of certain types of species, others argue that there are more imperative problems other than that, and I agree with the latter point. Undeniably, the consequences caused by the loss of a particular species are inconceivable. First of all, habitats may suffer following the extinction of animals and plants. A point in this case is that if the bees that can spread out pollen disappear, the habitat may turn into a barren land. In addition, predators that are in the same ecosystem may also be on the edge of endangered. They may suffer from the dearth of food and the number of animals will thus decrease rapidly. On the flip side, there are also a lot of troubles that are of paramount importance. Begin with the carbon emissions that result in the greenhouse effect. The sea level thus has risen and soon the coastal cities will be submerged. Residents need to evacuate to other places and leave their homes behind. What’s more, the extreme weather patterns have caused severe aftermath. For instance, the high temperature killed thousands of people in Europe a few years ago In conclusion, although the disappearance of multiple species can result in a huge problem for the habitats and their predators, I believe that it is not the most urgent and main one. People need to grapple with other thorny problems immediately.