The best way to prevent people from smoking is to impose high taxes on tobacco products. In this way, people will be less likely to develop a long-term addiction to smoking. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

At the present moment, the number of people who smoke increased significantly. One said the best way to anticipate this issue is to give high taxes on tobacco products. In my opinion, this is the right thing to do since it can reduce the number of people who smoke. Nowadays, it can be found that many tobacco products are still at a low price and this means society can consume them at their pleasure. By putting high taxes on the product, some class will rethink their decision since it has a high price. For instance, lower middle class consumers will not purchase any cigarette due to the fact of raised charge. Giving a huge tariff on cigarettes, not only be a problem to these people but also young buyers seeing it will be a financial burden for their parents. If they keep consuming, therefore, they can not survive with their main expenses. Moreover, the cut will be affected the availability of the products so fewer clients will buy them. On the other hand, individuals in upper middle income may still have the potency to continue smoking despite high taxes. Considering the fact that they already have a stable income, they can enjoy the product as a recreation good. This means some people will continue to smoke effortlessly due to the reason that they can afford it easily. Although, it will still decreased the number of people who smoke. To conclude, raising the tax on tobacco potentially decreases the number of people who smoke although some may still continue smoking.