In many countries today, the eating habits and lifestyles of children are different from those of previous generations. Some people say this has had a negative effect on their health. What extent do you agree or disagree?

Compared to previous generations, it is evident that the habits of food consumption and lifestyles of contemporary children has changed significantly. Consequently, there is a growing concern that these changes might bring negative impact on their health. I am inclined to stand with the proponents. To initiate with, many of the health concerns were originated from the popularization of fast food industry. Fast food is known for its high-fat content, which often lead to obesity and is the major cause of the cardiovascular diseases. Studies have shown that the increasing diagnosis of type II diabetes is highly correlated with the amount of fat consumed, and is caused by the interference with our metabolic pathways. Moreover, the consumption of processed food in our daily diet has increased strikingly in our generation. Food was manufactured by adding various artificial additives and preservatives for better flavor and for longer preservation, which would undeniably increase the burden of our kidney and is detrimental for our health especially for our children in long-term. The development and modernization of our lives have also altered remarkably. The invention of Internet, in my opinion, is a double-edges sword. While it provides children a wide variety of opportunities for self-learning without physical barriers, the chances to suffer from Myopia and to access violent contents has increased, which are both harmful for their well-being physically and mentally. Another example of modern lifestyle that deteriorate children’s health is that, with the rising of sanitation standards, kids nowadays have less opportunity to contact with pathogens. Hence, immunologists has come up with the idea of hygiene hypothesis, which provides explanation to the rising population that suffer from allergy and the increasing severance of autoimmune diseases. In sum, it is clear that modern eating habits and lifestyles has many drawbacks for children’s health. Perhaps we should learn from the older generations for a healthier life.