Should government provide free public Wi-Fi in urban areas.

The question of whether the government should provide free Wi-Fi access in major cities is a matter of debate. In the following paragraphs, I will explore both perspectives on the positive and negative impacts of free Wi-Fi services in urban areas and provide a comprehensive analysis of their various aspects. To begin with, there are numerous reasons why government should support this trend. Firstly, providing free Internet services can be helpful for individuals with limited resources, enabling access to education, Jobsearch and more. This free Wi-Fi service will not only assist them in attending online classes or applying for new jobs while commuting but also save time. Furthermore, this facility will also be helpful in the safety and emergency sectors. People can take advantage of it during any emergency. Consequently, they can call their loved ones or the emergency department by searching for their contact numbers online, if necessary. Moreover, if the authorities provide free Wi-Fi service facilities in metropolitan regions, it would encourage visitors towards tourism attractions. To elaborate, tourists can benefit from free Internet services to access maps and navigate the cities. However, many believe that providing access to free Wi-Fi to everyone in metropolitan areas can be disadvantageous for the government and society. Setting up and maintaining free Wi-Fi services can be expensive due to the cost of infrastructure, maintenance, and data security, diverting funds from other critical public services like healthcare and education, which may be seen as higher priorities for government budgets. Additionally, this step can encourage people to use free Wi-Fi services rather than buying Internet packages from private companies, which might impact the overall growth of private Internet service providers. To conclude, although there are some drawbacks to offering free Wi-Fi facilities in urban areas, the merits outweigh the demerits. The Government can help society in many ways by providing free Internet services.