Some people say that drug companies have a responsibility to spend money on researching medicines that will help people in poorer countries. Others say the main responsibility of drug companies is to make money. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

Some people argued that drug companies should invest their money on medical research and drug discovery to address health issues in developing countries, while others suggested that prioritizing their profitability should be their main focus. Personally I can understand the two opposing points of view and it is a controversial issue which deserves an in-depth discussion. On the one hand, it is undeniable that drug companies are part of an industry that is characterized by high risk and high reward. Perhaps the most recent example was the introduction of the mRNA vaccine after the outburst of pandemic. The stocks of the companies rocketed, leading to profits for investors worldwide. Although drug companies bring many benefits for shareholders through earning money, I believe that it can do more for the general public and further improve the quality of life in poorer areas. On the other hand, I share the concerns of people who think that pharmaceutical companies should shoulder the responsibility of investing in medical research and drug discovery. It is a big concern that most of the research institutes and laboratories doing basic research in Taiwan are unable to obtain enough fundings. The cooperation between industry and academia is of utmost importance, as drug development relies on the basic study of molecular pathways and immune responses. Furthermore, the development and marketing of drugs often involve patenting drug recipes and techniques, which lead to the high prices of medical resources that is undoubtedly a huge hindrance for poor people. Therefore, I believe that publishing drug components and techniques will definitely improve health concerns in developing countries. In conclusion, while earning money is indeed desirable for companies worldwide, investing in medical research may benefit the health of all mankind.