The development of tourism contributed to English becoming the most prominent laguage in the world. Some people think this will lead to English becoming the only language to be spoken globally. What are the advantages and disadvantages to having one language in the world?

Thrives in the tourism sector helped English turn into the most important language all around the world. People tend to tolerate that this will help English become the only language spoken worldwide. Having one language can offer a plethora of benefits, nevertheless, there are also possible negative sides as well. One of the main merits of only language is that communication between people from different countries extends opportunities and makes people much more self-confident in dealing with some kinds of language problems. Furthermore, this can help people when they research something that needs to be scrutinized by using other sources written in the English language. For instance, for scientists from Arabic countries, who are responsible for academic activities, it is a boon to use the global language that contains a throng of information. In contrast, the loss of cultural values is a common problem even though people don’t pay attention to its gravity. Some indigenous people, who are trenched in small areas, believe that it can be a threat. Likewise, another concern is minor languages have a small population to use in the largest countries, which can vanish if the world opts to speak one language. For example, Danish is a minority preference in the United States, if this happens, it can be eradicated there by the global language. To conclude, using one spoken language can cause enlarged facilities for some people to interact and consume information, on the other hand, this may also come with some problems, such as loss of cultural values and minority languages.