Some argue that music mainly serves as a way for individuals to reduce their stress and anxiety. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is claimed by some that the main function of music is to decrease the level of nervousness and distress. Personally, I completely disagree with this opinion, and in this essay, I will explain why I believe so. Although at times music may calm people down, it is likely to increase their anxiety or augment their depression. This can be explained by the fact that music is capable of intensifying any existing feelings, be they positive or negative. For instance, when a person feels distressed and frustrated, cheerful music may annoy them, while a sad tune is likely to depress them further. In both ways, the effect of music is the opposite: instead of becoming calmer, a listener may well dive more deeply into their negative thoughts. A vital function performed by music, and reinforced by the effect it has on the listener's mood which I deem is serving as an inspiration for people with its motivational lyrics and melody. Nowadays, a lot of people listen to the music by their favourite singers not just to enjoy the sound, but also to relate to the author’s experience and feel understood by other people. For example, my best friend sought external motivation to win a crucial dance competition. Listening to different songs about never-ceasing efforts encouraged her to continue her training and boosted her self-confidence. Inspired by the driving tunes and positive lyrics, she kept practising, even on days of despair, and finally, successfully won first place. All things considered, it is my conviction that music plays a vital role in terms of a person's motivation and increasing the quality of emotional experience; however, decreasing the stress level is absolutely not its main duty.