Some people think that it's a good idea to socialise with work colleagues during evenings and weekends. Other people think it's important to keep working life completely seperate from social life. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Some groups of people believe that socialising with colleagues outside of working hours is beneficial, while others maintain the belief to entirely differentiate between work and personal life. This essay will discuss both perspectives while arguing that it is essential to separate professional and social aspects in order to achieve work and life balance. On one hand, hanging out with co-workers after working days can help improve relationships at the workplace. Social activities like having dinners or drinking at a bar can be an effective means for employees to get to know their co-workers better, from their personalities to even movies preferences, and subsequently strengthen the bonding among them. This can potentially enhance communication at work because they are comfortable with the people they work with. On the other hand, it is crucial to separate working life from social life to maintain professionalism. Socialising involves sharing personal issues which can lead to bias, disrupting the professional purpose of work. For instance, a manager can act in favour of certain employees just because the manager feels emotionally closer to them. Such behaviour can be dangerous for harmony at work because people do not act objectively. This will negatively affect the results of work. In conclusion, both notions have their own merits and demerits for professional life. However, I strongly believe that a need to distinguish between work and the social sphere must be prioritized. People have spent the majority of their time at work. Weekends and evenings must be fully dedicated to life outside of work, such as with friends and families.