Aircraft have been increasingly used to transport fruit and vegetables to some countries where such plants hardly grow or are out of season. Some people consider it a good idea, but some people oppose it. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

People have different views with regard to the use of aeroplanes to transport fruit and vegetables. While some people argue that it would be unreasonable to carry them, I believe that air transport generally has more benefits on several levels. On the one hand, air transport plays an irreplaceable role in our daily lives and world economy. The most obvious merit of conveying by air is its speed, which means geographical limitations are not a problem anymore. European inhabitants can buy easily any products from Asia by doing shopping in food stores. As a result, consumers may get benefit from the variety of food choice instead only local products. In addition, thanks to aeroplane’s speed, the product could be served for consumers quickly in a fresh state. On the other hand, I can understand the arguments against air transport for fruit and vegetables. The first reason for this view is that the price of food will increase because of its freight charges. Actually, if we use larger planes, the costs are not expensive. Another reason for this opinion is that aeronautical technology produces pollution; nevertheless, the main source of the world’s emission is private car rather than aeroplanes, and food is also vital part of life so it should be carried by air and we need to put restriction on non-essential items and encourage essential ones like food. In conclusion, it seems to me that it would be good to invest in and develop even more the airfreight of food for vital daily resident’s demand.