Some people think that too much money has been spent looking after and repairing old buildings, so we should knock down old buildings and build modern ones instead. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays society begin to think that acient buildings cost lot of funding in case just to repair it, come with solution to demolish the old building, change it to the modern one or can be said as build the new building. However, I tend to disagree with this idea and will elaborate the explanation in this essay. On the one hand, ancient buildings save and have meaningful story behind it. For instance, University of Oxford in Oxford, United Kingdom. This university created in 1096 and evidence of the first-early of teaching in this world. The building itself is very unique, typically Europe ancient building in the past. Till now, the building of university itself still endure because the collaboration of university and the government, the government even gives some funding voluntarily to support building reparation of the number one world class university in their country. Furthermore, they won't the historical building that have long history to be broken or dirty. On the other hand, tough reparation is expensive enough, building the new building, or even the modern building is more expensive. The architect from University of Oxford ever been asked the cost for reparation, and he answered it is just about hundred poundsterling pound sterling per year, he also added that it is cheaper than building new-modern typical building like they new library in the west side of Oxford with the price thousands poundsterling, excluding the insurance and the reparation cost. In conclusion, repairing the ancient building is so much better idea than demolish it and creating the new one, because the cost of demolish is also high, including the risks.