in some countries, many more people are choosing to live alone nowadays than in the past. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

It is true that today, we face a rise in the number of one-person households in many modernized countries. I would argue that this statement is a negative trend in the world. As people tend to live on their own, the daily direct interactions are disappearing which has several negative consequences on human lives. In a one-person life, it is less common for people to constantly share their feelings, thoughts, and highs and lows of their daily life in person so it is more possible for them to feel lonely and therefore depressed. Also, through this kind of lifestyle, people are more likely to expose themselves to passive distractions, such as television and social media and the hustle and bustle of an interpersonal life therefore, would be sacrificed in favour of a sedentary one. The trend towards people living alone is perhaps even more disadvantageous while considering choirs and expenditures. It is harder to shoulder the financial expenditures of a house accommodated by one person rather than a family. A range of costs from rent, repair, and charges to purchase food and furniture, would be a burden on a single household. Similarly, every single, inconsiderable choir of a house like cooking, washing and cleaning would be impossible to deal with when you have no help from others. People who live alone are personally responsible for home tasks and also payments are fully on their own. In conclusion, I believe individuals gain less when they live alone and this modern trend among people brings disadvantages rather than benefits.