Differences between countries become less evident each year. Nowadays, all over the world people share the same fashions, advertising, brands, eating habits and TV channels. Do the advantages of this trend outweigh the disadvantages?

Countries are sharing more and more similarities which brings globalisation in many areas of our lives. This essay will argue that the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages because it reduces cultural shock and helps boost the economy. The main reason that people oppose globalisation is fear of losing their culture and authenticity. Many international companies have expanded their business to different countries and famous chains such as H&M and McDonald's can be seen all over the world. This trend, however, is largely dominated by the fast growth Western culture followed by industrialisation. While many people enjoy trendy fashion and food, it is undeniably true that authentic tastes have become more and more invisible. Many traditional indigenous clothing and crafting, for example, have gradually been replaced by industrially made fast production. Besides that, many languages and dialects are also disappearing which will limit our understanding of human history. Despite the drawbacks, there are more advantages this brings to our lives. The main advantage is to reduce our cultural shock. Many people often need to travel overseas for work or study, so having familiar food, clothing and TV programmes in a foreign country can make those expatriates or travellers adapt to a foreign nation more easily. For example, many exchange students from America who took a year to study in Japan appreciated immensely the familiar food chains such as McDonald's and Kentucky. Instead of spending time worrying about dining in unfamiliar restaurants, they could focus on their academic study. Another advantage of this globalisation is to promote the economy, especially for developing and underdeveloped countries. For example, international companies such as Tesla and Ford have opened up their branches in many foreign lands and inevitably employed local people. This has not only created job opportunities but also increased the average local salaries and boosted the local economy. In conclusion, despite the disadvantages of globalisation might cause, this inevitable development is undoubtedly lessening the cultural shock and stimulating the global economy.