Many offenders commit more crimes after serving the first punishment. Why is this happening, and what measures can be taken to tackle this problem?

Criminals are seen getting involved again in more crimes after serving their initial sentence. This is mainly attributed to the family environment and the lack of employment opportunities offered to them. The issue can be tackled through moral value education and providing job-related training. One of the main reasons to consider for rising crimes committed by repeat offenders is the lack of moral values. This is mainly dictated by how an individual has been raised in their family. Furthermore, the lack of discipline and the absence of ethical values imparted to them during their early childhood is the main cause of such behaviour. In the UK, for instance, over sixty per cent of repeat perpetrators of crimes, have been caused due to a poor social environment, lacking financial stability, and involvement in drugs. This can, however, be tackled by providing moral and psychological training in prison cells before they are discharged from their sentences. Ultimately, leading to a more civilized and safer community to live in. Another important cause for a person to take on more crime is the lack of employment opportunities offered to them when they are set free. Due to the damage caused to their personality and the presence of criminal history, none of the employers are willing to employ them, which is the key to, eventually making it harder for them to make a living. For example, in the USA, according to a research article from the Government, only one per cent of the government organizations have employed individuals with a criminal background. This can be mitigated by imparting skilled-based training, and teaching lessons about managing finances, which, in the long run, will prove to be a leading asset in addressing the issues of unemployment while at the same time making them normal human being. In conclusion, the increased probability of offenders repeating crimes is due to the absence of moral values and increased difficulty in getting employed. The issue can be addressed by providing ethical and moral education as well as providing skill based experience to motivate them to work harder and not drag themselves back in criminal activities.