There is a lot of pressure on young people today to succeed academically. As a result, some people believe that non-academic subjects, such as physical education and cookery, should be removed from the school syllabus so that children can concentrate on academic work. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is a significant amount of pressure building up among young people to attain success on academic subjects and the intense competition among each other is one of a cause for it. In this manner, some people believe that dropping out non academic subjects will pave the way to achieve greater results in academic subjects which is subjective. I strongly believe non-academic subjects should be included in the curriculum and there should be a balanced approach needs to be considered. Firstly, physical education is an important field to study since it teaches how to be fit through exercises and includes nutritious foods in the diet. If one person only gains prosperity in studies and deteriorates in health conditions, it will negatively impact his or her life. According to the learning Buddhism, having good health condition is the highest priority for a human, and when someone fails to maintain good health it will impact other criteria of their life. When pupils get an education on sports and other non-curriculum activities it will lead to fit their body and better mental conditions without stress and anxiety. Secondly, Cooking is one of the fields that practices patience for young people and the expertise in culinary is a unique skill. Due to the uniqueness, there is a shortage of labor for those jobs and higher salaries for chefs in developing countries. As an example, a Chef in Canada earns $35-$40 per hour. So If someone looking to develop their career in cookery, it is one of a field that generates benefits in terms of monetary and non-monetary. In conclusion, physical education and cookery should not be eliminated from the school curriculum and it is important to illustrate the benefits to the students of attending the courses in those areas and provide necessary training and development. Q