Nowadays, most countries improve their living standards through economic development. But some social values are lost as a result. Do you think the advantages of the phenomenon outweigh the disadvantages?

These days, majority of the nations worldwide emphasize improving economic development to enhance the standards of living for their citizens, but in doing so numerous social values are lost as a result. In my opinion, I think the benefits brought by economic development do not hold water against the damage caused to its societal values and affect on the environment. Admittedly, there are some benefits by stimulating economic development USE SYNONYMS advancementevolutionexpansionimprovementincreaseprogress It is important to use synonyms in your writing, as you will lose marks if you repeat words from the question and use the same words in your essay over and over. If you do that, it will show the examiner that you have a limited vocabulary and you want to do the opposite for a high band score.. First and foremost, due to the rising economic opportunities through numerous industrial developments, people have higher purchasing parity leading to increased affordability and satisfaction levels. For instance, in the UAE, owing to the petroleum industrial growth in recent years, has resulted in a better lifestyle for its citizens. Additionally, in this era of globalization, competition has promoted numerous companies to compete against foreign companies. This, in turn, increased the options as well as the affordability of gadgets, personal beauty and wellness products for their people. Nevertheless, despite the advantages mentioned above, individuals have lost social values on the way to materialistic possession. People are spending more than ever on unnecessary and unsuitable products against their cultural values. In India, for example, over thirty percent of family finances are in a dire state and have strained family bondings due to comparison with relatives. Another obvious issue is that, while economic developments are flourishing, countries and individuals have lost track of sustainability. Consequently, global warming is caused by people through excessive fossil-fuel combustion to satisfy their lifestyles such as cars, which in the long run, is the reason for rising natural calamities and fluctuating weather patterns. In conclusion, the repercussions of lost social values like family bonding and damage to nature far outweigh any gains of the improved style of living obtained through economic development.