Information technology enables many people to do their work outside their workplace. Do the benefits of this mobility outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Recently, there has been an ongoing debate about the pros of cutting-edge technology which has made workers work anytime and anywhere outweigh its cons. Whilst acknowledging that there are some drawbacks, this essay will argue that the advantages of mobility outweigh the disadvantages. On one hand, there is an unpleasant point of this trend, namely physical disability. Individuals who very often work on computers are apt to experience dry eye symptoms since working long hours on the screen. Also, most of them have back pain as they must sit in front of their computers for up to seven hours a day. For instance, a recent survey by Times in India released information that four-fifths of people who work from home have common issues, not only are their eyes getting weak, but also they have pain in their back. Moreover, the potential of the decrease in collaboration and communication between team members is another con caused by this phenomenon. If this lack of face-to-face interaction situation runs in the long term, then it will lead to miscommunication or delay in decision-making. On the other hand, there are several benefits of working away from the workplace. One of the biggest benefits of working remotely is time management. People who work from home or anywhere else except their workplaces can do other activities simultaneously. A career woman who has married and has kids, for example, can maintain her core tasks while doing her house chores (e.g. doing laundry, cooking, watching kids, etc.). Another related advantage is that information technology has created a range of job opportunities. The greatest flexibility offered by this remote type of working has led to a new era so called “online job opportunities.” For instance, a plethora of advertisements seeking data analyst workers who can work online always appear on television or social media such as YouTube and TikTok. Finally, the trend of mobility works helps the new startups as they do need to rent a place for their offices. Their employees can be asked to do their tasks from anywhere; when they are traveling, for example. In conclusion, that working from outside the workplace has its negative sides is an undeniable truth. Nevertheless, using gadgets while working makes life much easier since people can work from any part of the world which is beneficial for the company as well as their workers. Therefore, the writer of this essay firmly believes that the pros of this mobility outweigh its drawbacks.