some people say thata the main environment problem of our time is the loss of a particular species of plants and animals. others say that there are more important environmental problems. discuss both views and give your opinion?

It is often held that the major environmental issue at the moment is the extinction of certain plants and animals, while others believe in bigger environmental problems. This essay will discuss both views in detail and argue in favour of the latter. On the one hand, those who prioritise the loss of specific species argue detrimental effects as a result. For example, bees are very important for running the ecosystem; however, they are rapidly decreasing in numbers. If they become extinct, then the whole ecosystem can be disrupted, and consequently collapse the environment. Therefore, it is crucial that certain types of organisms and plants are maintained in order to keep the environment safe. On the other hand, those who prioritise other reasons as 'more major' often argue for issues such as global warming. That is the emission of greenhouse gases in the atmosphere and causing climate change around the world. One illustration of this phenomenon is the rise of the sea level; countries like Bangladesh and Mali are in potential danger of being substantially submerged underwater in the near future. Therefore, this issue poses a greater threat to the environment and human life. In my opinion, issues such as global warming and climate change are causing worse effects to the planet than the loss of species. The effects of climate change are slowly pushing the planet to its doom; if there is no planet, then there will be no species in the first place. In conclusion, although there are important grounds for keeping certain animals or plants alive for the sake of the environment, I think there are further environmental problems of major concerns such as climate change.