nowadays many people use social media do you think advantages of this outweigh disadvantages

At present, a huge number of people are using social media in order to communicate, gain information and promote their business. Some claim that this has an adverse effect on the living society while I am a proponent of the view that the benefits of using social networks exceed the drawbacks. This essay will elucidate both the merits and the downsides of this phenomenon. There is a myriad of advantages to these platforms. Primarily, this allows the community to interact with close ones who live far away. For example, instant messengers such as WhatsApp can be used to make video calls, allowing people to share important life news. Thus, social media is crucial to strengthen relationships with others. Furthermore, social networks play a key role in receiving information.Users are able to subscribe to fan pages where they can learn languages, enabling them to boost their language skills. Finally, companies can use social networks like Instagram to boost their products which not only soars their sales but also creates product awareness. Nevertheless, it is important to recognize that social media has a negative impact on society. To begin with, this causes addiction. According to a study, the majority of people spend around four to five hours on social media watching unnecessary content, causing them to be lazier than their opponents which leads to a reduction in their daily productivity. Additionally, using an intensive amount of social networks leads to serious health issues such as poor vision. Since looking at a screen without taking breaks causes strain on the eyes, many users suffer from eye-related diseases in their later lives. To conclude, although using social media has a number of drawbacks such as addiction and poor vision, I strongly believe that the benefits of this overshadow the drawbacks, provided people use these platforms wisely.