In some countries there are more young people choosing to enrol in work-based training instead of attending university. Do the advantages of this situation outweigh the disadvantages?

These days, the training-based program is getting more favourable for the youth rather than college courses. Attending an apprenticeship has its own positive and negative sides, but I personally opine that the drawbacks outweigh the merits for future generations. On the one hand, some believe that the opportunity to learn by doing from direct involvement in the workplace is the main benefit of a training curriculum. Throughout the program, juniors are being eqquipped with practical skills which are relevant to their role. As an illustration, my friend shared her experience as a vocational employee at a multi-national manufacturing company. Her biggest achievement was that she managed to finish the one-year program with advanced technical skills and was placed in a staff-level position. On the other hand, others believe that the drawback of vocational curriculum is the lack of conceptual thinking for the trainees which has been the primary skills for the managerial level. While the technical skills of the trainees are proven and relevant, most companies value the learning resilience of those fresh graduates. Even though college students have to attend many classes before they are deemed ready to work for the employer, these youths receive more essential knowledge from lectures, projects, and thesis research. Aligned with my friend's experience in the previous example, she shared another interesting insight that her employer sought another candidate with a proven academic degree to fulfil the managerial position. Consequently, she has just been given a staff-level role due to the unmet intellectual requirement. In summary, it is undeniable that committing to a training program has its own benefits and disadvantages. Despite the positive impact, I believe that it has more drawbacks for the youth since most firms nowadays more recognize university graduates than trainees. Therefore, young people should be encouraged to equip themselves with learning agility by attending academic institutions and continuing prospective paths at the relevant company once they are ready.