Some people think watching television is a waste of time. Do you agree or disagree? Write an essay justifying your choice.

It is often held that viewing television is not worth of time. This essay will describe the reasons why I strongly disagree with this opinion and think that it can be very beneficial instead. To begin with, the primary reason why I disagree is because it can be very educational. That is watching foreign movies or shows can educate others about different cultures and norms. For example, the 'Home Alone' series can teach children about Christmas, while fantasies like 'Stranger Things' can educate them about America in the 1980s and Halloween. Besides, documentaries can teach about history or science and the news can update everyone about the current affairs of the world. Therefore, spending time with the TV can be a form of pleasure but it can also be very informational. Moreover, learning or improving language skills is another reason why I completely disagree. Studies have shown that people can learn a new language by solely viewing international contents with subtitles on a regular basis. For instance, popular TV sitcom 'FRIENDS' is often the top choice for learning English by many foreigners. Now, streaming platforms like Netflix have made it easier to access any international content and become familiar with their language, such as German with the 'Dark' series and Korean with 'Squid Game' and other K-dramas. Consequently, TV is a great tool in mastering another language if one wishes. In conclusion, there are numerous reasons why I think that watching television can be highly productive. If someone intends to learn about foreign cultures and languages, then viewing the television is an excellent choice for this purpose.