Nowadays, a growing number of people with health problems are trying alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their usual doctor. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

In recent days, patients are trying alternative medical treatments and methods over visiting their general practitioners. The issue is that, arranging correct dosage for medicines and adjusting proper maneuvers should be conducted by healthcare professionals. Thus, I believe these people threaten their health through choosing alternative treatment options. Medical doctors are highly educated professionals to conduct proper treatment applications. Moreover, they have spent a lot of time during their training to learn the dosage of pills and injections. On the other hand, unqualified people might not know about indications for over-the-counter pills or certain herbal products. Furthermore, they might conduct sick individuals to contraindicated treatments. As an example to this problem, 10 years ago, a male trauma patient visited an alternative medicine provider because of his mild neck pain. Thefore, the provider applied a chariopractic maneuver to relieve his neck. After two days later his pain increased dramatically and he went emergency department and revealed his story on the procedure. As a result, the doctor explained him to his cervical bones fractured through the maneuever. However, he might experienced a serious damage from this kind of adjustment, but he just survived with only few months of collar brace theraphy. On the other hand, patients should be aware of some herbal products could trigger miscellaneous diseases or interract with other drugs. These interactions and possible problems have already known by medical professionals. Moreover, they also consider patients ' allergies or medical histories. Eventually they will be able to provide their patients to most appropriate treatments. Conversely, there are some Chinese herbal products are available in local stores that involve excessive dose of herbal extracts. If a patient decides to use them, they might experience ulcer, rash, or even severe angioedema. Not only will they risk their well-being through these products but they will also spend money and contribute this sector of nonsense. In conclusion, the incidence of people are visiting alternative medicine providers to alleviate their symptoms and cure their diseases is escalating nowadays. As far as I am concerned, they should visit their highly trained doctors instead of receiving wrong treatments. They exactly know the proper treatment of their problem, not others. Ultimately, patients can alleviate their conditions by the help of healthcare professionals.