In many countries around the world, rural people are moving to cities, so the population in the countryside is decreasing. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, in a great number of places across the world, there is a continuous exodus of people from the countryside to cities, which results in the decline of the rural population. From my perspective, this phenomenon is worth worrying for the reason that it can have lots of negative impacts on human beings. To begin with, an increasing number of people living in the city means the worsening of the scarcity of precious resources. A great number of metropolitans in the world are over-populated, stretching resources like land and housing thin. With an influx of people, cities will have to face even more severe problems in providing these provisions to every citizen. In addition, a larger population equals more fierce competition in many other areas, for example, the job market and admission into a prestigious local school, since these newly-arrived people are also in need of these life opportunities. To make matters worse, the loss of the rural population can lead to the insufficiency of work labour in the countryside, which will greatly affect all humans. These days, an overwhelming proportion of agricultural activities are still completed in the rural regions, resulting in a huge need for a workforce. However, most of the population moving from the countryside to cities are young people, who are about to take on the responsibility of cultivating crops but dislike this kind of job and search for other job opportunities. Because of this, it is likely that with the trend going on, in the future there will not be an adequate number of labourers doing agricultural jobs, which can cause insufficient amounts of cash crops to feed all the people in the world, bringing huge disruption to all the countries. In conclusion, due to the detrimental consequences mentioned above of the tendency of people leaving countryside for cities, I believe that this is definitely a negative development.