In some countries, secondary schools provide students with an opportunity to learn skills such as cooking, basic repairs, drawing and woodwork. What are the advantages and disadvantages of teaching such non-academic classes in school?

Housekeeping’s methods are pedagogically essential to our daily lives because such an opportunity to learn those subjects doesn't exist after graduating from secondary schools. Therefore, some countries adopt to introduce such classes in those schools. Depending on the value systems, the answer about this system's pros and cons varies from person to person. All in all, I will explain these advantages and disadvantages. Firstly, one of the most crucial advantages is that we can gain the ability of our housekeeping, which leads to cost saving. For many people, how to implement its task had not been recognized until they learned these subjects in their schools. Therefore, not having learned them, I couldn't have kept my room clean. Furthermore, these skills don’t need a professional cleaning service, which means it saves much more money. Secondly, regarding disadvantages of non-academic classes, I reckon that time to learn other crucial subjects required for our professions may disappear, which also decreases our motivation to serve scientific jobs that need much time to learn. In the case of my experience, scientific classes didn't have enough time to learn them thoroughly. Therefore, we had to study these subjects ' problems that I could barely solve by myself without an appropriate explanation, which may not have been impossible for many students to comprehend. Furthermore, those students may be discouraged to major science like mechanics and chemistry, which are crucial to our society’s development. In conclusion, the advantages of subjects in this topic are to learn housekeeping, which may keep our houses clean as well as save our money because of these skills, and the opposite is to decrease the time to learn essential subjects which need appropriate teaching by professors in students’ school, and this may disappoint many promising students to major science due to feel their incompetence.