ThMany supermarkets are selling more and more products that are imported from other countries instead of selling food that is locally sourced. What are the reasons for this? Is this a positive or negative development?

In this contemporary era, a numerous number of stores tend to sell items that have been made in a different country. The lower price of such products is the main culprit of this phenomenon, and this would have a negative impact on the local economy. To embark on, the low expense of a wide variety of agricultural products is what attracts most individuals to purchase it which,in turn, impose supermarkets' owners to buy these imported products in order to embrace the increasing demand of consumers. In other words, each type of crops needs a certain condition to grow. Thus, the availability of the appropriate circumstances in a country makes this specific crop inexpensive compared with different countries where the perfect conditions might not be available. Accordingly, high sum of money should be allocated to implant such a crop. For instance, in Iraq, the government has been spending thousands of dollars annually to grow some tropical fruits which will not be affordable for most citizens compared to low cost crops from other countries. What can be said here is that the affordability is the main factor that determines what owners of supermarkets should provide to their customers. Nevertheless, despite the above-mentioned point it can be assumed that buying food products which are not locally made will, eventually, weaken the local economy. To illuminate, one of the most important sources of money that enters state coffers is agricultural production. Therefore, decreasing demand to purchase local sourced food might have a detrimental impact on economic growth. This can be exemplified by an article conducted by a group of Iraqi economists which claimed that the ongoing trend of buying inexpensive imported food has been costing the government around three million dollars annually. This example shows that buying foreign products affect negatively affect the developmental process of economy. In conclusion, after this essay has reiterated above-mentioned points, it can be assumed the availability and the low expenses are the main reasons for increasing purchasing rate of foreign products, and this could have dire consequences on economic growth of a nation.