Some young people look forward to a year of travelling, a 'gap year'; before they begin work or university and see it as a chance to broaden their horizons. For others this is an expensive waste of time. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Taking a gap year has been becoming more popular among pupils in recent years. While some people believe that a gap year may positive effects on students, others argue it may not. I, personally, believe that this decision should depend on individual’s personal life and aim, and I will explain in this essay. On one hand, many people believe in taking a gap year may give huge amounts of benefits to pupils. They can travel around the world in their gap year which gives them a valuable chance to meet new people, develop their communications or language skills. They can also work in gap year and this provides a job experiment to them before embark on college education, which may put them one step ahead in the line of business while they appliying for a job after their college education. On the other hands, taking a gap year may be costly for some pupils, those who have not strong financial funds. Additionally, being far away from education may result in a loss of academic momentum, and these students may have some troubles when they turn back the education. Furthermore, pupils could lose some incentives, including bursaries or scholarships in their gap year. Finally, I believe that the decision, whether taking a gap year should depend on individual's priorities. If their aim is work in a job market, a gap year would be effective to learn the job in the kitchen. Whereas for those who are willing to be part of some certain jobs such as advocacy, medicine which require well-rounded education, a gap year may disrupt their academic momentum. In conclusion, taking a gap year could be very effective and benefitial or harmful and distracting for pupils according to their purpose. Their aim and financial status should have a key role about this decision.