These days, the wealthy in society often throw away perfectly good products in order to replace them with more up-to-date models. Do the environmental disadvantages of this development outweigh the economic advantages?

Nowadays, products in a very good condition are constantly replaced by new and more modern options. I strongly believe that the economic benefits surpass the environmental drawbacks. The main reason I support the economic positive aspects of replacing used products is because of the impact at the nacional industry. It is well known that the industry is one of the biggest responsibles for employment in this country, and attacking the consumption of brand new products will have a direct impact at the employment numbers. For example, the biggest employer in my state, São Paulo, is the automobile industry. Furthermore, there is a huge market of used products that would be affected if we stop buying new products. In particular, a considerable part of our population does not have the budget for pursuing new products. For instance, there is a very popular market in Sao Paulo, where people usually go not only to find used products in good shape, but also to sell the objects they do not use anymore. However, the replacement of old products is also a downside for the environmental aspect. It happens because some of those objects do not find new owners, and they are frequently becoming trash. Electronics are the most common example of a product that once it does not work anymore, usually go to the garbage. In conclusion, I believe that the economic merits of replacing used products outweigh the drawbacks. The employment impact that would be caused by reducing the consumption of new products, and also the damage at the used market surpass the environmental negative aspects.