Some people think that the government is wasting money on the arts and that this money could be better spent elsewhere. To what extent do you agree with this view?

Undoubtedly, a country's advancement depends entirely on where and how the capital budget is spent. In this epoch of technology, emphasising arts rather than education and well-being may not be a reliable approach to developing a nation. Although arts play a vital role in relieving stress and enhancing mental health, investing funds in other sectors such as education and health would be lucrative in the long term. The legal authorities should allocate funds to the sectors that could surge the financial situation such as schools, universities and hospitals. Healthy citizens are the cornerstone of a healthy economy. So, pumping money into healthcare centres will promote hygiene and disease-free life and, in turn, generate revenue. For example, Canada consumed one-third of their expenditure on the coronavirus vaccine to promote people's health so that they can go back to work without affecting others. Besides this, learning is the fundamental right of everyone. Investment in higher education will give birth to an ingenious and skilled workforce. For example, an excellent precedent is established by the government of Japan, subsidised higher education to their people. Hence, the invention of high-tech companies such as Samsung and Nokia is the incredible result of this phenomenon. Conversely, the paramount importance of the arts and traditions cannot be overlooked. Spending on recreational activities assists individuals in releasing stress and anxiety. Thus, their mental health is promoted. However, spending solely on leisure activities is worthless because they are not a significant source of national income. To conclude, I firmly believe that the legislation should consume their expenditure on the departments that could assist them in earning rather than wasting the hard-earned dollars on innovative activities. Therefore, health and education should be prioritised while distributing national funds.