Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organization. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed?

In recent times, the number of people who tend to run their own businesses has increased significantly. This is owing to the fact that job independence brings great benefits to the owner in terms of economic aspects and having a flexible timetable. I would argue that this trend has its own disadvantages which will be discussed in the following paragraphs. One of the primary rationales behind the increasing preference for self-employment is the strong desire for independence and control over your time. To elaborate on my point, if you work on your own, you might have the capability to manage your schedules geared to your lifestyle. What it means is that there is no obligation to be in your workplace at a certain time. For instance, being freelance can pave the way for earning more money since the profits are not shared with an employer. On the other hand, embarking on a self-employment journey also entails a set of distinct drawbacks. To present a better explanation, one of the primary problems is the absence of job security and benefits typically provided by traditional employment including health insurance and paid leave. Furthermore, statistics show that business owners might have to deal with more stress as it is challenging to maintain a work-life balance. To cite an example, one of my friends started up her online shop. After a while, she had a panic attack as she was so agitated about paying her debts and she was fully responsible for all the work ranging from financial management and customer service. To sum up, having an independent occupation can be rewarding regarding financial issues and flexibility. As far as I am concerned, it has some merits but the disadvantages outweigh the positive parts.