While many people go to university for academic study, more people should be encouraged to do vocational training because there is a lack of qualified workers such as electricians and plumbers. Do you agree or disagree?

The shortage of skilled workers such as electricians and plumbers has become a problem faced by some countries in the world in recent years. Meanwhile, the market needs more practical job applicants rather than theoretical ones. So it is important to push people to do vocational training. The explanation behind this opinion will be presented in this essay. First of all, people who graduate from university sometimes have difficulties to adapt with their new careers because there are a lot of differences between the real tasks and the assignments they used to do in the university. The focus on the tasks is often different. In the university, students are stimulated to have more critical thinking rather than practical skills. This caused an unbalanced between their hard skills and soft skills. They tend to have more comprehension in academics. On the other hand, the job providers usually search for fresh graduates with better soft skills. This will lead to a qualification mismatch and the candidates who can not fulfil the requirements will be thrown into the job fields they do not want. However, this trouble can be solved by encouraging young people to do vocational training. By doing it, they are expected to have specialized skills in a particular job field because they have learned more about the work. In addition, people who have been trained before have more self-confidence to do the tasks given to them since they are already used to it. As a result, the output produced is way much better than those who have not been trained. Another advantage of having practical workers is that companies can save more on training budgets. Therefore, if they recruit people without any special skills, they need to spend more money on the training program. In conclusion, people with vocational backgrounds are more promising for companies since they are completely ready to work in a certain position.