Some people think the technology available to individuals today is increasing the gap between the rich and the poor. To what extent do you agree?

The wealth gap between the rich and the poor often attracts social attention and arouses discussion, however remains unsolved after all the political measures. The situation is even more complex nowadays compared to before by adding technological factors into consideration. By observing the technological advancement and the widening of the gap between the rich and the poor, some draw a direct correlation between the two phenomenons and conclude by attributing the accessibility of technology towards an imbalance in income. Nonetheless, I consider this argument insufficient to support the claim above. Indeed, technology bombards us with loads of information and convenience which equip us with a better understanding towards the human society and easier management of financing. Yet, this influx of information often lacks validation by a credible authority. This is especially true recently when the stock markets are in a mess. A lot of unverifiable anlaysts are giving tips on investment online; More technological frauds are emerging in the property and crypto market; Online banking and transactions are hijacked by hackers. Therefore, technological advancement can sometimes be a trap instead of a tool to stay financially well. Contrararily, technology in fact has generated new opportunities for the poor to climb up the ladder. Technological breakthrough has transformed how industries usually operates, for instance, factories now uses machineries in the manufacturing process; restaurants provide QR code for food order; security check is operated by sensors and gates other than officers. These operational changes give rise to many new job and business opportunities. The rise of the US Bay area and technological giants, like Elon Musk and Steve Jobs, are prime examples of how technology aids social mobility. In short, technology contributes both positively and negatively towards profit generation. Whether or not it widens the gap between the rich and the poor is debatable. Whether the individual has the ability to well use technology, catch up with the latest trends and analyse the information available is the key to determining how effective technology is. Anyhow, with collective efforts made to improve the wealth gap, I believe we can one day achieve a more equal society.