In some countries, owning a home rather than renting one is very important for people. Why might this be the case? Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

These days, getting a home of individuals’ own, instead of renting one, has become an implicit requirement in many parts of the world, which catches people’s eye and sparkles fierce debate. The reasons behind this are multiple. First of all, a private dwelling is desirable to most people as it represents a sense of security, providing individuals with a place of warmth to live in and an asset whose value can remain stable over time. Besides, owning a home can make a person stand out in some regard. In some places, a residence serves as an important exponent of an individual’s financial capability, and folks with their own homes are usually deemed reliable and attractive to others, especially seniors in society. These are all the benefits that renting a home cannot compete with. From my personal perspective, the potential damage of this outweighs the positive outcome it can bring. To begin with, purchasing a residence considerably increases the financial burden of certain family, as the amount of money it requires is much higher than that of renting one and often surpasses the savings a household collects, which means they usually have to buy it in a mortgage. In this case, a large part of their income will be used to pay the loans and they will have much less money to pursue for things they truly want. In addition to this, overemphasis on the importance of owning a private home can render those who are incapable of achieving it in an embarrassing situation, being criticized or even despised by others. In conclusion, families prefer to own a dwelling rather than renting one because of the feeling of security and power it can bring, and in my opinion, this is definitely a negative situation.