In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

Nowadays, the value of hard work has been promoted to such a high level, that in some countries, children are told that they can make any accomplishments through endeavour, which sparkles fierce debate. On the one hand, this information certainly has lots of positive impacts on youngsters. To begin with, it gives kids confidence in themselves and allows them to have big dreams, as they are convinced that whatever roles they are aspired to be, the pursuit can be fulfilled if they can keep on fighting for it. In addition to this, telling kids this encourages them to tackle the problems when confronting difficulties instead of backing down. Knowing that they are capable of achieving their goals, children will not be afraid of the obstacles on the path and will try their best to stride over them, which is beneficial for their development of tough characters. On the other hand, the message can bring potential damage to juveniles as well. First of all, it can lead young children to the wrong path as they may pursue what is not suitable for them. Being over-confident in themselves and ignoring the significance of natural talent, kids can have unrealistic dreams and blindly chase them, thinking that they will eventually be realized, only to end up in huge failures. Worse still, youngsters may be misled into inappropriate and even illegal conduct. When finding out that they are impotent in achieving their goals fair and cleanly, however, kids sometimes can take extreme and even illegitimate measures in order to force the dream to come true, being under the influence of the ‘magic spell’. In this way not only will they lose their dream, but also they will even forfeit their whole life. In conclusion, telling kids that they can achieve anything if they put enough hard work into it can help build up children ’s confidence and perseverance, however, this message can also bring children to undesired situations.