Some young people believe it’s best to move out of their hometowns when they become adults, while others wish to live in their hometowns their whole lives. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

Like how there are two sides to a coin, the debate on whether young people who have transitioned into the adult phase of life, must stay or leave their hometown, is also two-sided. While some believe that it's better to stay in one's hometown, I unequivocally agree that moving out would help in character development. On the one hand, adults must stay in their hometown to keep in touch with their roots. This is because, for a lot of people, their hometown is a part of their cultural identity. As a result, moving to a new place could lead to loss of cultural identity which could consequently result in mental health issues such as anxiety and depression. Moreover, young adults could also face a lot of pressure in a new environment and in certain circumstances, adapting to a new place could be a challenge. For example, a study published by the University of Texas concluded that 40% of adults who have moved to new areas have been prescribed with anxiety medications due to feeling overwhelmed all the time. On the other hand, I believe moving out of one's hometown is a good change for a number of reasons. Firstly, it makes people come out of their comfort zone which fosters personal growth. Secondly, they are made to rely on themselves which teaches young adults certain responsibilities. For example, only when I moved to Banglore did I learn how to be financially responsible. Until then, my parents took care of all my finances. Lastly, experiencing different cultures help people understand the world better and helps them develop into a socially conscious person. In conclusion, although there are drawbacks such as suffering from mental health issues while moving to a new place, I believe that the advantages of moving out outweigh the disadvantages. The major benefits include experiencing a new culture and personal growth.