Nowadays parents give more freedom to their children than in the past. Is it a positive or negative development?

In recent years, parents have grown more conscious of the importance of allowing their children to enjoy more independence. Although this seems to be a largely welcome tendency, there is a drawback as well. A notable upside is that young children are highly likely to develop an outgoing personality should they be granted more control over their own lives. Left to their own devices, these minors get to form relationships with whomever they want to, thereby expanding their circle of friends. In this way, they tend to experience the enjoyment of having a fulfilling social life, which makes them more of an extrovert than an introvert. Of course, such sociable children are expected to have a better mental health in their adult life. An added benefit is the fact that such children have the opportunity to go after their passion. With little supervision over them, these adolescents can, for example, practice a sport they are keenly interested in or take art classes which appeal to them. By having the freedom of engaging in what gives them genuine satisfaction, they are more liable to succeed than if they were to be coerced into an activity that they do not really like. Nevertheless, it is also worth noting that giving children absolute freedom might result in them going astray. We all know the dangers existing in our society today: drug addiction, dangerous religious sects, to name but a few. A case in point is a late teenage neighbor of mine who, due to lack of parental control, managed to go to Syria after coming into contact with ISIL supporters and died therein fighting for this militant group. Had he received due attention from his parents, he would perhaps be alive today. In conclusion, there are substantial reasons to argue that letting children enjoy more freedom is a mostly commendable development; however, there is also the possibility that children will choose the wrong path.