Q. The increasing number of senior citizens in many societies has triggered a question whether the government should take the responsibility or individual family should take care of them. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is estimated that the ageing gap between mature and young generations will keep broadening to the level that the earth's population will decline. Therefore, it is a point of discussion whether the increasing number of elderly people should be taken care of by the governments or the families themselves should care for them. It is my firm belief that each side has its own different aspects, however, I believe this rising concern should be handled at the family level by people looking after their senior family members. On the one hand, many governments have prioritized accountability to guard the elderly generation and pay attention to their special needs. In other words, new nursery homes are being built to help the less fortunate old people with their needs. Socialist governments are pushing forward the importance of caring for the old people in societies once they retire. Additionally, huge pension reserves are being allocated, and inclusiveness of the elderly is being considered in all projects to increase the quality of their life. Despite the fact that governments have an undeniable role in helping senior members of societies, such an overwhelming growth would challenge the existing resources and may put a burden on the shoulders of the younger generation like in Germany and Japan. On the flip side, in certain societies old people are perceived as the leaders of a family or a clan, thus, leaving them at retirement homes is not an option. Moreover, elderly people are still treated as the heads of families even though they do not contribute as much. For instance, in my country, Azerbaijan it is considered disrespectful if a family abandons their senior members by sending them to retirement houses. In my view, every family should take care of their senior citizens, as a way of reciprocating the care provided to them during their childhood. In conclusion, although the government might ensure access to a well-encompassing well-fare package for the elderly, I believe that each family ought to be one who could provide for their elderly in case of an imbalance created due to a spark in the growth of the older generation.