some people rely too much on doctors instead of taking care of their own health. they think all health problems can just be fixed by visiting doctors. what problems could this approach to healthcare cause and how might they be solved?

Several people believe that going to a medical professional will fix every illness they have instead of taking care of their own health. While having a regular check-up is important, relying only upon doctors and not making lifestyle changes will not have the complete benefits people need in order to remain healthy. For starters, many common diseases need changes in the lifestyle of the patient in order to solve the actual problem. For example, in some cases of patients with high levels of blood glucose, the first-line treatment consists in prevention thus making lifestyle changes such as eating healthier, adding more cardiovascular exercise and maintaining a healthy weight. If a patient takes the medicine but does not eat healthy and remains sedentary, the condition will not improve and in fact, it can get even worse. For this reason, all healthcare professionals should advise that dieting, exercising and taking prescription medicine are the correct form of management. Another problem that can result from this is that patients will not follow the prescription accordingly which can lead to errors in medication and even a higher risk of overdose. As an example, in some skin conditions caused by bacteria, antibiotics are prescribed and the treatment lasts usually from 7 to 14 days but if the patient does not follow instructions accordingly the infection will not improve therefore a stronger medication will be needed thus incrementing the risk of complications and a higher resistance of bacterias. This issue could be solved by explaining to the patient the correct management of the disease, the complications and possible side effects of not taking the medicine in the correct way. In conclusion, having regular visits to the doctor is as necessary as taking care of your own health and it should be promoted together in order to adequately manage illnesses.