In the past, most working people had only one job. However, nowadays, more and more people have more than one job at the same time. What are the reasons for this development? What are the advantages and disadvantages of having more than one job?

Traditionally, people are used to having a single profession for their daily living. However, it has become more common to find people who have more than one job in the contemporary world. This essay will discuss the rationales of this trend and address the merits and demerits of multiple jobs. Firstly, it is clear that people choose to have multiple professions for financial reasons. Nowadays, most people are suffering from a failing economy. House rental fee has been increasing constantly for a decade. However, people ’s income almost didn’t change compared to the past. That’s why people end up working for more than one job to sustain their living expenses. Secondly, many people don’t believe that you need to stay in the same workplace for their lifetime. Back then, there was a myth that having a forever job was the safest way to earn money. Now, the old career trend is gone. Young people are usually preparing to move to different job fields all the time to secure their finances. Therefore, its job trend leads youngsters to seek a second money source even though they are employed as full-time workers. Working for more than one workplace is a very difficult task mentally and physically. That is the main problem of this trend. The recent research about the current job market in Korea is well-attested in that the majority of workers who have multiple jobs experience depression due to overworking. On the other hand, having a lot of jobs at the same time can be beneficial for the career in the long term. A lot of companies prefer an applicant who has various work experiences. Therefore, if you can work for many companies in the same period, you can be a desirable applicant in a short period. To conclude, the poor economic situation and new job trends make people get a lot of jobs. It could bring a negative impact such as intense emotional strain and a positive effect like a successful career goal.